The reality of a new dawn and a farewell to Bath, UK

The Roman Baths (Thermae) of Bath Spa, England...

The Roman Baths (Thermae) of Bath Spa, England. This is a 6 segment panorama taken by myself with a Canon 5D and 24-105mm f/4L IS lens. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s 5.00 A.M., so what’s different this morning when I wake up in my home in Bath, where we have had many wonderful memories over the last twenty years?

Firstly, I woke up early because I was sleeping on an air-bed that seemed to have lost some air during the night.

Secondly, I wondered into an empty house and remembered that yesterday we had the removers take our personal possessions into store. Despite the rain, it went pretty well and our possessions of twenty years plus just shoe-horned into the removal lorry. There was one moment of panic when we realized that some medication had found its way on to the lorry in a dressing table drawer, so the guys were great about a quick unload in the rain!

Thirdly, I am drinking my tea siting on the floor, laptop on my lap and listening to the familiar sound of the birds’ dawn chorus outside.

Fourthly, I am reflecting on some great memories over the last twenty years in Bath. Yesterday, after the events of the day, we stopped at the Crown in Kelston, for a pint of bitter. I wonder when I shall next taste a good pint of ale?

Fifthly, I realize that the four-day count-down to our departure has begun. Saturday, we take the 6.00 A.M. Dover ferry to the adventure of our lives.

Back to reality, my tea is getting cold and chores beckon..

About dralfoldman

Blogs about Politics, People and Travel. Expert in Strategic Change Management. Retired mainstream. Former executive, consultant, coach, researcher, author. Professionally, Chartered Account & Doctor of Business Administration
This entry was posted in Bath, UK and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The reality of a new dawn and a farewell to Bath, UK

  1. Pingback: Taking the slow road to Cyprus – Omnibus Edition | Taking the slow road to Cyprus

  2. Pingback: Taking the slow road to Cyprus – Omnibus Edition… « Dr Alf's Blog

  3. dralfoldman says:

    Reblogged this on Dr Alf's Blog and commented:

    Looking back over some of our most popular travel blogs, I think this is worth a read

Leave a Reply

